Marquette University Academic Senate

For Immediate Release: November 25, 2024

Contact: Paul Gasser, University Academic Senate Chair, paul.gasser@marquette.edu

Jennifer Ohlendorf, University Academic Senate Vice-Chair, Jennifer.ohlendorf@marquette.edu

Milwaukee, WI: On Monday, November 25, 2024, the Marquette University Academic Senate (UAS) continued debate regarding a resolution of no confidence in the Executive Leadership Team—President, Dr. Kimo Ah Yun and Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Mr. Joel Pogodzinski. President Ah Yun addressed the members of UAS with a response to concerns that had been raised over the past weeks by over 100 faculty and several academic departments regarding budget priorities that have resulted in austerity measures in academic departments and lack of transparency in decision-making. After a robust discussion by Senate members, the vote was called and was passed by a majority of UAS members.

The University Academic Senate is responsible for advising the senior administration and board of trustees on matters crucial to the success of Marquette University's academic mission. It is co-chaired by the Provost and a chair elected from the UAS faculty senators, and its membership includes elected faculty senators, undergraduate and graduate student representatives, as well as appointed and ex-officio deans and vice provosts and a member of the academic staff.

A motion of no confidence is intended to express that the leaders named have lost the support of the body because they are making decisions that the members of the body feel are detrimental to the mission of the university.

It is the intention of UAS to continue to work in collaboration with the Executive Leadership Team, the faculty and academic staff, and all other university leadership in order to advance the mission of Marquette University.